Wine Supper

13th Feb 2020

Star Crossed Supper

The Edinburgh University Shakespeare Company are so proud to be back with their beautiful event, the EUSC Supper Club: this time, we present to you the Star-Crossed supper.

Please join us on the 13th February for a beautifully themed feast and performances of Shakespeare’s greatest love stories, with a three-course meal themed entirely around Shakespeare’s greatest, be ready to be transported through an array of the greatest ever love stories.

 

Be ready for some musical surprises on the way- after all, who was it who said the course of true love never did run smooth? 


We’ve teamed up with Sipsmith Gin to bring you some delightful gin and tonics, all included in your ticket price, as well as some lovely surprise EUSC goodies.

Not only that, but we'll be holding a publicity competition for our guests, which will involve a wonderful prize!

Dinner + short performances + fun!

£35

23rd Feb 2020

Edinburgh Cinema Club: Emma

 

Our theme this month is Love!  So we’re giving credit to the ultimate romantic— Jane Austen & watching the latest adaption of her novel ‘Emma’.  Emma promises to be delectably funny, rather romantic and & will see us follow her endeavors in local Georgian matchmaking! Yay!

Tickets cost £26 & include 
- Your admit one cinema ticket to 'Emma', &
-  A dynamic guided discussion at LeftField with Edinburgh Cinema Clubs Isobel Salamon, wine & small plates to keep the film discussion flowing 

 

 

What are you waiting for?  We can’t wait to chat with you! 

 

Email Rachel  leftfieldevent@gmail.com 

£26

28th Jan 2020

Ladies of Restaurants: In Stories

 

We are SO excited to be hosting Ladies of Restaurants  first In Stories event of 2020, and their first in Scotland!

 

The theme for this event is PREP YOURSELF! All about getting set up for success for the new year/decade etc. 

Our In Stories dinners are part dinner party, part talk show - we eat delicious food (this time at LeftField) and hear from inspiring women.

 

On this occasion L.O.R have asked our speakers to share the ways in which they stay focused, prepare for a busy period at work, handle hurdles and any other nuggets of wisdom they can share.

 

Talking on the night…

Emily Cuddeford, Head Baker (Twelve Triangles

Rachel Morgan, Owner/Operator (Twelve Triangles

Rachel Chisholm, Owner/Operator (LeftField

Caroline Mair, General Manager (Dishoom)

Dinner + talk + cocktail

£35

2nd Feb 2020

BOOK CLUB: DIVISADERO
 

4-5.30pm  
Curated and led by our very own Katie Buckley,  LeftField book club is an opportunity to drink wine, talk about books and meet new people; what's not to love?!

February's book is Divisadero by Michael Ondaatje. A story about love, loss and the way trauma can reverberate through lives. A perfect book for fans of The English Patient, Divisadero showcases Ondaatje’s poetic ability to weave together multiple threads that touch on what it means to be human. 

Tickets costs £10 and include
- Guided discussion with Book Club's Katie Buckley
- glass of wine and nibbles to keep the Divisadero chat flowing

Book Club is held on the last Sunday afternoon of each month, and the list is designed to balance classics and contemporary fiction.  Throughout the winter some of our novels will be translated into a Literary Supper event where we interpret novels into a fabulous dinner!   

Email Katie to book or for more details

£10

20th November '19

Join us for a communal supper club with a twist! We’re beginning our literary supper series with the beloved classic, ‘Practical Magic’ by Alice Hoffman.

Our four course dinner, themed around the book, draws out ingredients and concepts that reflect the magic, mystery and witchcraft of Hoffman’s seasonal tale.

Starting at 7pm, tickets are £35, including a bewitching welcome drink and a four course set menu.  We will be selling wines and other drinks on the night and letting you know about our Winter book club and supper series plans.

£35

1st December '19

SOLD OUT 

 

Food, drinks and festive floristry tuition with Flowermug.

Make and take home with you a magical festive wreath or wall hanging for your Yule / Christmas celebrations. 

We'll use a selection of seasonal evergreen foliage (holly, ivy etc.), along with dried flowers, herbs, seeds pods, fruit and cones.

All tools and materials provided, including  organic mulled wine and delicious festive nibbles. 

£55

11th October '19

An afternoon of food, flowers, wine & tuition with Jenny Mugford of Flowermug.

 

Using seasonal feature flowers and foliage, hips, seed heads and dried elements you will make and take home with you a naturally arranged table vase to celebrate Autumn.

All tools and materials provided including a vase/vessel,  glass of organic wine and delicious pinchos.

£60

27th Feb 2020

Wine Supper

 We'll be serving up some of Scotland's best sustainable, organic and wild food alongside some fabulous paired wines from L'Art du Vin.  Expect some good food, good wine, some great chat and some top tips.

l’Art du Vin supply us with a range of biodynamic wines and organic wines , they also have their very own range of micro fair trade wines, In 2019 L'Art du Vin very proudly became the first Scottish wine merchant to be a certified member of the Soil Association.

Tickets costs £60 and include
- 4 course dinner with paired wines  
- Expert wine chat from our charismatic host Philippe Larue, Managing Director of L'Art du Vin
- Top tips from Rachel & Phil on sustainable food, reputable suppliers and how to prepare some of the dishes 

Email Rachel to book

£60

1st March 2020

February Book Club : Narrow road to the deep north


Curated and led by our own Katie Buckley,  LeftField Book Club is an opportunity to drink wine, talk about books and meet new people; what's not to love?!

This month, our bookclub is tackling the Booker prize winning ‘The Narrow Road to the Deep North’ by Richard Flanagan. This novel is a heart wrenching exploration of love and masculinity in the Burmese camps where Australian prisoners of war constructed the ‘Death Railway.’  Katie's favourite book published in the last five years, Flanagan’s novel is a testament to the raw power of human emotion.

Tickets costs £10 and include
- Guided discussion with Katie Buckley
- glass of wine and nibbles to keep the book chat flowing

Email Katie 

leftfieldedinburghbookclub@gmail.com  for details

£10

19th January 2020

Edinburgh Cinema Club: Bombshell

Our theme this month is Truth! So on Sunday 19 January we’re watching the explosive film ‘Bombshell’ that tells the ‘true story’ of the women who brought down the infamous Fox News creator, Roger Ailes. With over 20 allegations of sexual assault brought against him & one notorious foot fetish, ‘Bombshell’ promises to be eye opening, relevant & powerful! 

Tickets cost £25 & include 
- Your admit one cinema ticket to ‘Bombshell’, &
-  A dynamic guided discussion at LeftField with Isobel Salamon of Edinburgh Cinema Club, wine & small plates to keep the ‘Bombshell’ discussion flowing 

So what are you waiting for? Last month sold out, so get in fast. We can’t wait to chat with you! 

Email Rachel to book

£25

22 December '19

Let's talk film.  You asked, we listened & now it's here - our own film club!

Whether you are a cinephile, critic in the making or simply love having a good chat come and explore everything from heroic classics to modern gems with Isobel of Edi Cinema Club.  

 

First up is festive classic 'It's a Wonderful LIfe'. 

Tickets cost £25 and include: one ticket for the 2.30pm screening at the Cameo Cinema plus wine and pinchos at LeftField where we will host a dynamic discussion about the good, the bad and the surprising parts of it.

Shake off your George Bailey curmudgeon shoes and let's try to lasso the moon instead!  Merry Christmas Bedford Falls!

£25

1st December '19

The LeftField Book Club is an opportunity to drink wine, talk about books and meet new people in the beautiful, relaxing setting of LeftField restaurant.

Meetings held once a month are informal, and the list is designed to balance classics and contemporary fiction. The book choices make sure that while there’s something for everyone, occasionally you’ll be reading out of your comfort zone, discovering new styles and new authors.

Join us for the first meeting of the season where we'll be looking at seasonal tale ‘Practical Magic’ by Alice Hoffman.  Tickets are £10, including a glass of organic wine and snack. We will be letting you know about our Winter reading list and supper series plans.

£10

30th November '19

SOLD OUT

Food, drinks and festive floristry tuition with Flowermug.

Make and take home with you a magical festive wreath or wall hanging for your Yule / Christmas celebrations. 

We'll use a selection of seasonal evergreen foliage (holly, ivy etc.), along with dried flowers, herbs, seeds pods, fruit and cones.

All tools and materials provided, including  organic mulled wine and delicious festive nibbles. 

£55

 12 Barclay Terrace Edinburgh EH10 4HP

Reservations 0131 229 1394

© 2017 by Leftfield Edinburgh